Meet the New VOICES Program Directors for 2017-2018

AAJA congratulates the new VOICES Program Co-Directors for 2017 and 2018, Maya Sugarman and Jessie Tseng!

VOICES serves as a multimedia journalism fellowship for college and graduate students, as well as a mid-career leadership program for journalist mentors. VOICES develops mentoring relationships between students and industry professionals while creating a newsroom environment for students to bolster their multimedia and reporting skills during AAJA’s annual convention. The program will celebrate its 27th year in 2017

Successful VOICES alumni have landed jobs at prestigious media outlets and organizations such as AJ+, CNNMoney, The Washington Post, the Associated Press and The Wall Street Journal in Asia, among others.

The alumni network of former students and mentors include hundreds of journalists and media leaders. Distinguished VOICES alumni also include five-time Emmy award-winner Candice Nguyen of NBC 7 San Diego, Pulitzer prize-winning photographer Hyungwon Kang, incoming AAJA national president Yvonne Leow and Leezel Tanglao, assistant managing editor of programming at CNNMoney.


Maya Sugarman is a visual journalist for NPR station KPCC in Los Angeles. She previously worked at the Antelope Valley Press, Los Angeles Daily News and Orange County Register. Maya is a graduate of UCLA and was a VOICES student in Detroit in 2011. Follow her on Twitter at @mayasugarman.







Jessie Tseng is a product designer at Flatiron Health, a healthcare start-up fighting cancer with organized data. Most recently, she was a UX designer at the Washington Post, where she designed personalized consumer-facing products and publishing tools aimed at addressing the challenges faced by people in the newsroom. She graduated from UC Berkeley, where she was the Design Editor for the university’s student newspaper The Daily Californian. She enjoys spreadsheets, really dislikes touch screens and claims she always has an opinion. Jessie was a VOICES alumni in 2010. Follow her on Twitter at @jesst220.