2016 National Journalism and Special Awards Now Open for Submissions


AAJA is proud to announce the call for entries and nominations for the 2016 National Journalism Awards, the 2016 Dr. Suzanne Ahn Award for Civil Rights & Social Justice, the 2016 AAJA Lifetime Achievement Award and the 2016 Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism. Award winners will be announced at the 2016 AAJA National Convention in Las Vegas at the Gala Awards & Scholarship Banquet on August 13. All submissions must be made online by March 31; see the red links below.

FAQs: 2016 AAJA National Journalism Awards

The 2016 categories are listed below. If your piece deals with members of the Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) community, you may submit it under the AAPI Issues category. Otherwise, you may submit it under the General Excellence category. To submit an entry, click on the appropriate category link:

General Excellence:

Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) Issues:

Eligibility Requirements: Please see each individual category’s submission form for complete requirements. You may also view general requirements on the National Journalism Awards FAQs page.

Entry Fee:

  • Entry fee is waived for current 2016 AAJA members. Renew your membership for 2016.
  • Non-members must pay a non-refundable fee of $100 per entry via credit card.
  • Fee is based on membership status of entrant (please note: membership is subject to verification).
  • Entry is considered incomplete and ineligible without payment, if applicable.


  • Entries are judged based on the quality of work submitted, regardless of circulation or market size.
  • Judges are professional journalists and change annually.
  • Judges reserve the right to withhold awards if they believe entries are not of winning quality.
  • Winners will be notified in advance of the convention.
  • Awards will be presented on August 13, 2016 at the AAJA Gala Scholarship & Awards Banquet.
  • Entrant need not be present to win.
  • Travel to the awards banquet will not be covered.
  • For joint or team entries, all names submitted will be listed on the award.

Deadline: The submission deadline is Thursday, March 31 at 11:59 PM PST.

For more information, see the National Journalism Awards FAQs page, or contact Daniel Garcia, Program Associate, at DanielG@oldsite.aaja.org.

Read about 2015’s National Journalism Award winners.



2015 AAJA Lifetime Achievement Award

Nominate an individual who has demonstrated courage and commitment to the principles of journalism over the course of a life’s work, as well as dedication to issues important to the Asian American and Pacific Islander community. Candidates do not need to be AAJA members, and there is no entry fee. Nominate someone today!

Award Prize: An award plaque

Deadline: Thursday, March 31

2015 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient, Ti-Hua Chang

2016 Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism

This award is offered in partnership with Gannett Foundation. Recognize groundbreaking work by a journalist or a team that creatively uses digital tools in the role of being a community’s watchdog with the Al Neuharth Award for Innovation in Investigative Journalism. Special consideration is given to journalism that helps a community understand and address important issues. View the Al Neuharth Award FAQs page for more information. Only current AAJA members may nominate candidates’ work. Submit your nomination today!

Learn about Al Neuharth and his legacy.

Award Prize: $5,000 and an award plaque.

Eligibility Requirements: See the nomination form and the FAQs page for complete requirements.

Deadline: Thursday, March 31

2015 Al Neuharth Award Recipient, Willoughby Mariano

2016 Dr. Suzanne Ahn Award for Civil Rights & Social Justice

The Dr. Suzanne Ahn Award for Civil Rights & Social Justice for Asian American & Pacific Islanders was established in 2003 by the Asian American Journalists Association to recognize excellence in coverage of civil rights of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders and/or issues of social justice for Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders. Nominate someone today!

Award Prize: $5,000 and an award plaque.

Eligibility Requirements: See the submission form for complete requirements. A $25 non-refundable entry fee is due upon submission for non-AAJA members.

Deadline: Thursday, March 31

2015 Dr. Ahn Award Recipient, Emil Guillermo

For questions about the 2016 AAJA Awards, contact Daniel Garcia at DanielG@oldsite.aaja.org.