AAJA Announces 2013 Award Winners

AAJA Convention 2013 New York, NY Hilton Midtown August 24, 2013
The 2013 AAJA Awards were announced on Saturday, August 24 at the Scholarships & Awards Gala during this year’s national convention in New York.

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award honors an Asian American or Pacific Islander who has demonstrated courage and commitment to the principles of journalism over the course of a life’s work.


Yuen Ying Chan
Chan has proven herself to be an international journalism pioneer, a tenacious leader and a nurturing professor. She is a professor of journalism and founding director of the Journalism and Media Studies Centre at The University of Hong Kong. She was also the founding dean of the School of Journalism and Communication at Shantou University, China. Through journalism programs at both universities she is raising a new generation of questioning, curious and fair journalists right on the doorstep of mainland China. Chan has taken an active role in developing professional journalism in Asia. In May 2013 AAJA-Asia hosted the third regional media conference and christened the AAJA-JMSC 2013 NewNowNext Media Conference. None of this would have happened without Chan. She is knowledgeable in determining the needs and priorities of journalism in the developing world, be it in Asia or the African countryside. Chan’s approach to thinking about media and its needs in different parts of the world is inspirational and innovative. Chan spent 23 years working as a journalist in New York City and has reported for Chinese language dailies, New York Daily News, CBS 60 Minutes and NBC News. Her honors include a Nieman Fellowship at Harvard University, a Polk Award for her reporting on the human smuggling trade from China, and an International Press Freedom Award for her battle against a criminal libel suit in Taiwan. She was a founding member of AAJA-new York and was the vice-president of AAJA-Asia from 2001-2003.

Leadership in Diversity Award

MarcusBrauchliThis award honors an individual or corporation that has made strides in promoting and demonstrating diversity in the news media industry. The Leadership in Diversity Award winner is selected by the AAJA National Board.

Marcus Brauchli, Vice President, The Washington Post
Marcus W. Brauchli is vice president of The Washington Post Co. Prior to becoming vice president, he spent over four years as executive editor, overseeing print and digital news operations. Brauchli has also served as managing editor of The Wall Street Journal, overseeing the Journal news operations both in the U.S. and internationally. He spent much of his career as a foreign correspondent for the paper in various cities in Asia and Europe including Hong Kong, Stockholm, Tokyo and Shanghai. When Brauchli returned to New York, he was named National Editor, later becoming Global News Editor, Deputy Managing Editor and finally Managing Editor. Brauchli is a native of Boulder, Colo., and a graduate of Columbia University. He was a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University. He is on the board of the International Center for Journalists, and is an advisor to the Knight-Bagehot Fellowship program at Columbia. He also is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the New York Economic Club.

Dr. Suzanne Ahn Award for Civil Rights and Social Justice

NUP_146873_0035.JPGThis award recognizes excellence in coverage of Asian American Pacific Islander civil rights and social justice, causes the late doctor promoted for all Americans but especially women and Asian Americans.

Richard Lui, Journalist and Anchor, MSNBC and NBC News
Lui is an active, enthusiastic, inspiring, and hard-working community activist. He has found ways to tell stories about the Asian American community and looks for ways to give a voice to those who don’t have a big megaphone. For each of the past two years he has participated in 40 community events, volunteering in many different roles for numerous organizations including affordable housing organizations, Habitat for Humanity, OCA, NAACP, and AAJA.

The Gannett Award for Innovation in Watchdog Journalism

SisiWeiThis award, from a partnership of AAJA and the Gannett Foundation, recognizes groundbreaking work by an individual or team of current AAJA full members in creatively using digital tools in community watchdog journalism. Special consideration is given to journalism that helps a community understand and address important issues. Criteria for evaluating innovation include interactivity, creation of new tools, adaptation of existing tools, and creative use of any digital medium.

Sisi Wei, News Applications Developer, ProPublica
As Graphics Editor at The Washington Post, Wei entered her work entitled “2012 Presidential Campaign Finance Explorer,” offered readers a one-stop resource for tracking political spending as billions were spent in the most expensive race ever for the White House. It’s easy to be overwhelmed by numbers, but this site highlighted the most important need-to-know figures and then delved deeper beyond them in a clear and easy-to-navigate format. Readers learned the big numbers (overall funds and spending), as well as where the money came from (super PACS vs. individuals) and how it was spent (advertising vs. polling). The site clearly had to be updated constantly as new federal election reports were filed, making this project a critical watchdog of campaign financials.

Dith Pran Photo Shootout Award

Named in honor of the late New York Times Photographer Dith Pran, who survived the Cambodian “Killing Fields,” this award is given to a promising young photojournalist whose name will be engraved on a trophy permanently housed at the AAJA National Office.

James Yee

2013 National Journalism Awards

Asian American
Pacific Islander Issues – Online

Nancy Matsumoto


Freelance Reporter, TheAtlantic.com

“Stinky, Spicy and Delicious:
The Radical Reinvention of Asian American Food”

Asian American
Pacific Islander Issues – Radio

Heidi Chang


Freelance Reporter, National Public Radio

“Soundtracking ‘The Descendants’
With ‘Real’ Hawaiian Music”

Asian American
Pacific Islander Issues- Television

Adela Uchida


Anchor/Reporter, KTRK ABC13

“Lost In Translation:
Asian American
Fishermen Sue BP”

Unlimited Subject Matter  Print

Mina Kimes

Mina Kimes photographed in Williamsburg at her favorite coffee shop

Writer, Fortune Magazine

“Bad to the Bone”

Unlimited Subject Matter

Frederick Katayama

Pix2 - Katayama

Anchor/Reporter,Thomson Reuters

“The Knuckleball:
The Science Behind
Why It’s So Damn Hard to Hit”

AAJA Membership Awards

Member of the Year 2013

Richard Lui
Journalist and Anchor, MSNBC and NBC News

ELP Outstanding
Leadership AwardGeorge Kiriyama
News Reporter, NBC Bay Area – KNTV (AAJA-San Francisco Bay Area)
Chapter Presidents of the Year 2013Sandy Louey
Information Officer, California Energy Commision (AAJA-Sacramento)

Jocelyn “Joz” Wang
Co-Editor, 8Asians.com (AAJA-Los Angeles)

Chapter of the Year 2013Asia

2013 BroadcastMentor of the Year

Priscilla Luong
Reporter/Fill-in Anchor, Fox-25/KOKH-TV Oklahoma City, OK (AAJA-Texas)