Asian American Radio Group Cultivates Radio Careers

The AARG encourages members to network, seek job opportunities, explore career paths and learn the latest in reporting techniques from seasoned veterans who have reported on some of the biggest stories of the past several decades.

Since its founding in 2011, AARG has been under the direction of veteran radio reporters Curtiss Kim and Rahul Bal, who volunteer as the group’s co-coordinators.

Learn more about AARG

Questions?  Contact Curtiss Kim and Rahul Bali.

About AARG Co-Coordinators

Curtiss Kim is a Bay Area broadcast veteran in both radio and television with a career that spans over 40 years.  He currently co-anchors the popular KSRO  Radio Morning Show with David Wesley Page. His affiliations include NBC, CBS and CNN.  Kim spent 15 years as a radio reporter and correspondent for KNBR-AM, then owned by NBC Radio.  Some of the stories he covered include the arrest and trial of Patty Hearst and the assassinations of San Francisco Mayor George Moscone and San Francisco Supervisor Harvey Milk.  Kim has been an anchor and reporter for 14 years for the award-winning North Bay Report produced by Comcast.  His television work also includes almost 11 years at independent KFTY-TV in Santa Rosa as a reporter and anchor.  Kim has won multiple awards from The Associated Press and the Radio Television News Directors Association for both feature reporting and hard news coverage.  Other awards include two national Telly Awards, the Peninsula Press Club Award and the Western Media Association honor for Best Community News. Kim was recently honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Asian American Journalists Association.

Rahul Bali is a freelance journalist based in Augusta, Georgia, who has reported and produced for WTOP Radio in Washington D.C., WSB Radio in Atlanta and CNN Radio. Bali has covered a wide variety of stories such as presidential inaugurations, the Ted Kennedy funeral and the 1998 Summer Olympics in Atlanta.  He has been a member of AAJA since 1998 and has been active in the Atlanta Chapter as a former vice president and president.  He is also a 2009 graduate of AAJA’s Executive Leadership Program.