AAJA Announces 2014 Award Winners

The 2014 AAJA Awards were announced on Saturday, August 16 at the Scholarships & Awards Gala during this year’s national convention in Washington, DC.

National Journalism Awards

Asian American
Pacific Islander Issues

Written Journalism

Ngoc Nguyen

Environment Editor/Reporter, New American Media

“Vietnamese Americans, Exposed to Agent Orange, Suffer in Silence”


Written Journalism

William Wan

William_Wan headshot

China Correspondent, The Washington Post

“Parenting in a Party State”

Asian American
Pacific Islander Issues


David Ono

Journalist, KABC-TV, with Jeff MacIntyre

“The Legacy of Heart Mountain”



Kyle Iboshi

Kyle Iboshi

Reporter, KGW

“Washed Away”

Asian American
Pacific Islander Issues


Vanessa Hua

Vanessa Hua

Freelance Journalist

“Living With Three Generations Under One Roof”




Luis Clemens

Senior Editor for Diversity, NPR


Hansi Lo Wang

Reporter, NPR

 Hansi Wang

“Chinatown’s ‘White Devil John’ Sentence to 20 Years”


Student Journalism

Blaine Ohigashi

Photographer, UCLA Daily Bruin

Blaine Phigashi

Sonali Kohli

Reporter, UCLA Daily Bruin


“In the Shadows”

Asian American

Pacific Islander Issues

Student Journalism

Shako Liu

Reporter, Digital First Media

“An ‘Underground Railroad’ for North Korea Based in Southern California”

Asian American
Pacific Islander Issues


ProPublica Staff


“China’s Memory Hole: The Images Erased From Sina Weibo”

General Excellence


Len De Groot,
Armand Emamdjomeh,
Rong-Gong Lin II,
Raoul Ranoa,
Doug Smith,
Rosanna Xia

Len Degroot, LA Times Armand Emamdjomeh, LA Times Rong Gong Raoul Ranoa Doug Smith Rosanna Xia

The Los Angeles Times

“A Concrete Risk: L.A.’s
Hidden Dangers”

Membership Awards

Member of the Year 2014

Bobby Calvan

Lead Reporter, Heartland Project

ELP Outstanding Leadership Award

Elizabeth Jia

Associate Producer, WUSA 9

Chapter President of the Year 2014

Ramy Inocencio

Anchor Correspondent and Producer of Digits Asia News, The Wall Street Journal

Chapter of the Year 2014

New York

Leadership in Diversity Award


This award honors an individual or corporation that has made strides in promoting and demonstrating diversity in the news media industry. The Leadership in Diversity Award winner is selected by the AAJA National Board.

Frank Blethen, Publisher and Chief Executive Officer, The Seattle Times

Since the Seattle Chapter was founded in 1983, Frank has supported the goals of AAJA by donating as a company and individual to the Northwest Journalists of Color Scholarship program. He was one of the first to step up for Power of One and continues to support AAJA financially. The Seattle Times has donated space to AAJA Seattle for NJC receptions and has donated space and sponsorship for three media access workshops we’ve held over the years (including this year).

As a publisher, Frank Blethen made diversity coverage a cornerstone for the Times. For years, the Times conscientiously engaged in “Community Reporting” and today, CR has becomes its standard for daily coverage and photography. There are stories of diverse communities and photographs of diverse people written by reports of color.

Frank has been a national leader in developing and diversifying news leadership. He has championed women and children’s rights with a series of editorials on how the region and nation can end human trafficking. The Seattle Times editorial board led a 13-year campaign for LGBT rights that culminated with the legalization of same-sex marriage in Washington state.


The Gannett Award for Innovation in Watchdog Journalism

Patrick Madden Julie PatelThis award, from a partnership of AAJA and the Gannett Foundation, recognizes groundbreaking work by an individual or team of current AAJA full members in creatively using digital tools in community watchdog journalism. Special consideration is given to journalism that helps a community understand and address important issues. Criteria for evaluating innovation include interactivity, creation of new tools, adaptation of existing tools, and creative use of any digital medium.

Patrick Madden, Julie Patel

WAMU’s “Deals for Developers” was an extensive look at the financial relationships between building developers and local government. WAMU used multiple types of media to illustrate a complicated topic, including articles, radio segments, photos and an interactive mapping of the money flowing from companies to the city officials. The package even included a look at possible solutions to the issues affecting the housing in the area.




From left to right: Rosanna Xia, Ron-Gong Lin II, Kyle Iboshi, Cecilia Kang (accepting for William Wan), Ngoc Nguyen, Mike Tigas, Patrick Madden, Sonali Kohli, and Hansi Lo Wang. Photo credit: Andrew Seng.

From left to right: Rosanna Xia, Ron-Gong Lin II, Kyle Iboshi, Cecilia Kang (accepting for William Wan), Ngoc Nguyen, Mike Tigas, Patrick Madden, Sonali Kohli, and Hansi Lo Wang.
Photo credit: Andrew Seng.

For questions about the AAJA Awards, please contact Justin Seiter at justins@oldsite.aaja.org.